Phishing for domains
February 11th, 2008 by
Jay Westerdal
It appears that all TrafficZ customers have received a notice by email today they may be the target of a phishing attack. This particular website was hosted in China (Beijing – Chinanet Jiangsu Province Network). I did some research on my own and it appears that not only are TrafficZ’s customers targets but so are GoldKey’s customers. A Registrant Search on the phisher quickly showed the other target was GoldKey customers. Below is a copy of the email I received from TrafficZ:
“Several of our clients have received emails spoofing the email address of TrafficZ personnel. The title of these emails usually read “TrafficZ | Domain Termination Notice”. The “notice” states that one of your domains has been deleted from your TrafficZ account and to visit Traffiz.com
within 72 hours or your account will be blocked. The sender is listed as Deborah Amar, one of our Client Relations Specialist. If you click on the link to visit the TraffiZ.com
, you will be directed to TrofficZ.com, which bears close resemblance to TrafficZ.com. This is a phishing attempt to try and capture the username and password of your TrafficZ account.
Please be assured that the TrafficZ attorneys are doing everything in their power to end these emails and disable TrofficZ.com
. If you have mistakenly entered your username and password on this phishing site, please notify us immediately, change your password and re-verify your payment information. “
I think this marks the arrival of micro-phishing. We have reached a point where domains are valuable and so are the accounts that monetize them. I think phishers are getting more creative at how they operate and now look for wealthy targets. Paypal and Bank of America move over, micro-phishing has arrived the new targets are domain owners. When a phishing group can target individual customers they are more likely to be scammed into handing over credentials. For example, I keep getting phishing emails about accounts I don’t have, like my “Bank of Scotland” account. It is hard for me to be convinced to give up my username and password to a banking website I have never visited or even registered for. However Domains have DNS information and a phisher can see what customers to target for each parking company or registrar.
« Newer Post Older Post »
Posted in Domain Parking |
15 Comments »
February 11th, 2008 at 8:46 pm
If the password at TrafficZ is the same as the password at the registrar it could be BIG Phishing.
From the TrafficZ account they can get the list of domains…
February 11th, 2008 at 9:15 pm
I got one of the TrafficZ Phishing emails and I was fooled. I did not click on the TrofficZ link, but I did write back to Deborah asking her why the hell she was threatening to close my account because of a very low traffic domain. Now that I re-read it, the email is poorly written.
The email I got stated:
—-
Dear client,
After detailed analysis of the traffic being generated from your domains.
1 domain has to be deleted from your account, which is:
anotherbankrupt.com
Please visit Traffiz.com
and log in your account to delete the domian within 72 hours.Or
your account will be blocked.
If you need additional assistance, please feel free to contact us at any time. We look forward to working together to maximize your domain assets.
Best regards,
Deborah
______________________________________
Deborah Amar
Client Relations Specialist
Thought Convergence, Inc. | TrafficZ
11300 W. Olympic Boulevard
Suite 900
Los Angeles, California 90064
Deborah@ThoughtConvergence.com
Deborah@TrafficZ.com
February 11th, 2008 at 9:17 pm
Scary. Another reason not to click on an email link.
Just better to directly go to the registrar site.
Ms Domainer
February 11th, 2008 at 9:32 pm
Guys having Such webs and scamming public has become a general scenario. Carefullness can be learnt from loss & scams. If any body feel that they are scamed like that, they will change their username + password automatically, And from the next time they will be very careful in clicking a link.
Is there any cyber laws to bann such webs, I dont know. If any body led a loss because of such scams have to take action in this regard, which has two benefits,
1) You save other friends from this scam.
2) You have to write about this scam in your web + article submission, press release, social media anf forums and have links pointing to your blog (or) site [ as a Social benefitter you get a valuable publicity - Public image ]
B.K.Saravanan
,
For http://www.collisiondomains.com
February 11th, 2008 at 10:07 pm
You know, there’s a lot of nice people out there but darned if there aren’t about as many scoundrels, too.
One thing the Stinker Phishers count on is the victim getting worried or mad and reacting before thinking.
Never get mad – get even. And don’t worry – be happy! But never click on email links without knowing the
sender and understanding his motives. Then look hard at the link.
Change channels. They want you to click a link? Email the sender or call them instead.
February 12th, 2008 at 6:34 am
It is very difficult to ever get a phone number to reach many internet companies(cough JAY)that actually get to a person and not a bad extension or voice mail so many just automaticly click if it looks like an official Email
this is why i called and tried to give the heads up on a major US bank Domain i found for sale that was the Plural of the real bank i was told by several i needed to write in or such INANE remarks like WE ARE XYZBANK.com
not XYZBANKS.com
that has NOTHUNG to do with US.I really hope that call was recorded for quality assurance and that moron loses her job as a Supervisor till shes actually QUALIFIED to be one.
February 12th, 2008 at 6:41 am
Also about Cyber Laws even if there were fair and real Cyber Laws you would have to get someone to enforce them and many countries harbor criminals because to the law there it isnt a crime plus since time began im sure it never has mattered what the Law was if the Item no matter how big or small was worth the cost to the thief i think the Bible has stories that can attest to that and that isnt exactly a new public opinion or statistic poll
February 12th, 2008 at 8:11 am
>> If the password at TrafficZ is the same as
>> the password at the registrar it could be BIG Phishing.
Good point mg1! Be sure to protect your domains by protecting your registrar accounts. Many people use the same passwords over and over again. But when it comes to your domains and parking accounts, diversify and have different, tough passwords!
February 14th, 2008 at 11:41 am
I just received a micro-scamming email today, purporting to be from Oversee.net
and Snapnames.
I wrote about it on my website:
http://www.msdomainer.com/2008/02/warning-warning-warning.html
This is a scary one, guys, because the text was fairly well-done and actually had some bonafide links. But one of the links was definitely hinky–the link leading to a website that would make changes in your snapnames account.
They had my e-mail address in the text of the email.
Best,
Ms Domainer
February 15th, 2008 at 10:59 pm
I just want to let everyone know that the email noted in #9 was actually legit!
On my blog, “John” pointed out that the email could be okay, so I emailed Snapnames using an email addy found on my account record, and they confirmed that the marketing company was legit and does work for Snapnames.
I posted an update on my blog; I have no wish to besmirch anyone doung a legitimate activity.
Best,
Ms Domainer
June 12th, 2009 at 7:43 am
Here you can find tons of great online flash games to play.
Remember to check back often because we are always adding new games.
Play Free Online Games http://www.baggygames.com